fbpx
enfrMAY 14-24 MAI, 2021
enfrMAY 14-24 MAI, 2021

Liberation Education Kit

La liberté a toujours valu la peine qu’on se batte pour elle. La liberté de vivre, la liberté d’apprendre et la liberté de grandir. Les générations futures ne devraient jamais considérer la liberté comme acquise, surtout lorsqu’elle peut être obtenue au prix de vies et de grands sacrifices. Au cours des 76 années qui se sont écoulées depuis la libération des Pays-Bas, le peuple néerlandais s’est réjoui de sa liberté et est encore aujourd’hui reconnaissant aux Canadiens.

La Seconde Guerre mondiale a durement touché les Pays-Bas. Lorsque l’Allemagne nazie a envahi les Pays-Bas en mai 1940, la princesse Juliana et ses deux filles ont été forcées de fuir. Elles se sont réfugiées à Ottawa où les Canadiens les ont accueillies à bras ouverts. En 1943, alors qu’ils vivent encore au Canada, les Royaux néerlandais accueillent leur troisième enfant – la princesse Margriet. La princesse Margriet est née à l’hôpital Civic d’Ottawa et sa naissance au Canada a renforcé les liens entre les Pays-Bas et le Canada.

Au début d’avril 1945, la Première armée canadienne commence à chasser l’Allemagne nazie des régions du nord-est des Pays-Bas. Grâce aux informations fournies par les résistants néerlandais, les troupes canadiennes ont avancé et, à la mi-avril, elles avaient libéré les villes d’Arnhem et d’Apeldoorn.

Les citoyens se souviennent très bien de cette période. L’un d’entre eux, qui était adolescent à l’époque, se rappelle : “Lorsque le char (canadien) s’est approché, il y a eu un grand silence parmi les gens, et il a été soudainement interrompu par un grand cri, comme s’il sortait de la terre ! Et les gens sont montés sur le char et ils pleuraient. Et nous avons couru avec les chars et les jeeps jusqu’à la ville.”

Finalement, le 5 mai 1945, l’ensemble des Pays-Bas est libéré. Puis, seulement deux jours plus tard, les forces allemandes nazies se sont rendues sans condition le 7 mai 1945.

BIENTÔT pour 2021 – Trousse d’éducation de la libération

Plan de cours n°4 – Le cadeau des tulipes

Destiné aux élèves de sciences de 2e et 3e années, ce cours examine le cycle de vie des tulipes et la signification particulière qu’elles ont pour les Canadiens. 

Plan de cours n°5 – Les épouses de guerre

Conçu pour les étudiants de niveau intermédiaire, ce cours examine l’histoire des épouses de guerre hollandaises et la relie aux questions actuelles sur les réfugiés, l’immigration et le besoin d’asile dans le monde.  En utilisant les 4 épouses de guerre sélectionnées pour la création des TulipToons, le cours explorera les histoires de vraies épouses de guerre hollandaises, et ce qu’était l’immigration au Canada à la fin des années 1940.

Plan de cours n°6 – Héros canadiens 

À l’aide des héros des six villes de la libération créés sous forme de tulipes, nous explorerons l’histoire de six villes des Pays-Bas et examinerons l’effet que cela a sur les citoyens d’aujourd’hui. Plusieurs d’entre eux organisent des veillées, des cérémonies et entretiennent des flammes en l’honneur des Canadiens qui se sont sacrifiés. 

Comme le dit le récent ambassadeur au Royaume des Pays-Bas, Henk van der Zwan, “Ce que nous avons aujourd’hui aux Pays-Bas, la richesse, la prospérité, la liberté dont nous jouissons, le respect des droits de l’homme et des libertés civiles, nous ne l’aurions jamais eu sans la libération d’il y a 75 ans. Cette [libération] est à la base de tout ce que nous considérons comme acquis de nos jours, mais en réalité, il ne faut jamais considérer cela comme acquis.”

Le Festival canadien des tulipes est produit en partenariat avec
We are using cookies to give you the best experience. You can find out more about which cookies we are using or switch them off in privacy settings.
AcceptPrivacy Settings

GDPR

  • About cookies on this site

About cookies on this site

Our site uses cookies and other technologies so that we, and our partners, can remember you and understand how you use our site. Access our Cookie Consent Tool, as seen on every page, to see a complete list of these technologies and to tell us whether they can be used on your device. Further use of this site will be considered consent. For more information visit our privacy policy.

fbpx
enfrMAY 14-24 MAI, 2021
enfrMAY 14-24 MAI, 2021

Liberation Education Kit

Freedom has always been worth fighting for. The freedom to live, the freedom to learn, and the freedom to grow.  Future generations should never take freedom for granted, especially when it can come at the cost of lives and great sacrifice.  In the 76 years since the Liberation of The Netherlands, the Dutch people have rejoiced in their freedom, and are grateful to Canadians to this very day. 

The Second World War hit The Netherlands hard. When Nazi Germany invaded The Netherlands in May, 1940, Dutch Princess Juliana and her two daughters were forced to flee. They took refuge in Ottawa where Canadians greeted them with open arms. In 1943, while still living in Canada, the Dutch Royals welcomed their third child – Princess Margriet. Princess Margriet was born in the Civic Hospital in Ottawa and her Canadian birth further strengthened the bonds between The Netherlands and Canada. 

In early April of 1945, the First Canadian Army began to clear Nazi Germany from the northeast sections of The Netherlands. Tipped off with information provided by the Dutch resistance fighters, the Canadian troops advanced and by mid-April had freed the cities of Arnhem and Apeldoorn.  

Citizens have vivid memories from this period, one who was a teenager at the time recalled, “As the (Canadian) tank came nearer, there was a big hush over all the people, and it was suddenly broken by a big scream, as if it was out of the Earth! And the people climbed on the tank and they were crying. And we were running with the tanks and the jeeps all the way into the city.”

Finally, on May 5th, 1945 the entirety of The Netherlands was liberated. Then, only 2 days later the Nazi German forces surrendered unconditionally on May 7th 1945.

COMING SOON for 2021 – Liberation Education Kit

Lesson Plan #4 – The Gift of Tulips

Aimed at Grades 2 & 3 science students exploring the lifecycle of tulips, and the special meaning they have to Canadians. 

Lesson Plan #5 – War Brides 

Designed for Intermediate Students, we explore the story of Dutch War Brides, and tie this into current day issues with refugees, immigration and the need for asylum worldwide.  Using the 4 War Brides selected for TulipToon Creation, the course will explore stories of real Dutch War Brides, and what it was like to immigrate to Canada in the late 1940’s.

Lesson Plan #6 – Canadian Heroes 

Using the Six Towns of Liberation Heroes created as TulipToons, we will explore the stories of 6 Towns in the Netherlands, and consider the effect this has on the present-day citizens. Several hold vigils, ceremonies and keep flames alive in honour of the Canadians who sacrificed. 

As the recent Ambassador to the Kingdom of The Netherlands, Henk van der Zwan says, “What we have in The Netherlands now, the wealth, the prosperity, the freedom that we enjoy, the respect for human rights to civil liberties – we would never have had that had it not been for the liberation 75 years ago. This [liberation] is at the basis of everything we take for granted nowadays, but actually one should never take this for granted.”

THE CANADIAN TULIP FESTIVAL IS PRODUCED IN PARTNERSHIP WITH
We are using cookies to give you the best experience. You can find out more about which cookies we are using or switch them off in privacy settings.
AcceptPrivacy Settings

GDPR

  • About cookies on this site

About cookies on this site

Our site uses cookies and other technologies so that we, and our partners, can remember you and understand how you use our site. Access our Cookie Consent Tool, as seen on every page, to see a complete list of these technologies and to tell us whether they can be used on your device. Further use of this site will be considered consent. For more information visit our privacy policy.