enfrMAY 14-24 MAI, 2021
enfrMAY 14-24 MAI, 2021

Cérémonie de la journée des anciens combattants

Le Festival canadien des tulipes est fier de présenter sa cérémonie annuelle de la Journée des anciens combattants le 12 mai 2020 à 11 h au cimetière national de Beechwood. Les téléspectateurs peuvent regarder la cérémonie privée officielle sur la chaîne TVTULIPE du Festival.

La cérémonie comprendra une gerbe de fleurs pour commémorer le 75e anniversaire de la libération des Pays-Bas. Les liens du Festival avec les Pays-Bas sont formidables. Le Festival canadien des tulipes a été créé pour célébrer le don royal historique de tulipes des Néerlandais aux Canadiens immédiatement après la Seconde Guerre mondiale en tant que symbole de l’amitié internationale. Le Festival préserve le rôle mémorable des troupes canadiennes dans la libération des Pays-Bas et de l’Europe et commémore la naissance de la princesse néerlandaise Margriet à Ottawa pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, le seul personnage royal né au Canada. D’où l’importance de se souvenir de ce lien historique lors de la Journée des anciens combattants du Festival des tulipes – en particulier en cette année d’anniversaire.

Pour marquer l’occasion, le Festival récompensera et célébrera également des individus de chacune des trois branches de l’armée qui ont servi notre pays. Il s’agit de la troisième année où un vétéran honoraire sera sélectionné dans l’armée, la marine et la force aérienne en fonction des candidatures soumises au Festival. Tout le personnel des Forces armées canadiennes, peu importe le moment où il servi est admissible à se porter candidat aux fins de soumission.

Bien sûr, nous vivons actuellement des moments extraordinaires où de nombreux événements et activités sont annulés et reportés à une date ultérieure lorsque les gens pourront se réunir à nouveau pour célébrer et commémorer. Même si le Festival canadien des tulipes et le cimetière national de Beechwood auraient préféré que des anciens combattants, des dignitaires et le public assistent à la Journée des anciens combattants pour reconnaître comme il se doit les contributions des hommes et des femmes au service de notre pays, il a été unanimement convenu qu’une cérémonie du Festival – peu importe sous quelle forme- devrait avoir lieu pour honorer tous ceux qui ont servi. La simplicité de l’événement désormais diffusé ne fera qu’amplifier sa puissante signification pour nous tous.

En partenariat avec

Cimetière Beechwood, Le cimetière national du Canada

Venez découvrir 144 ans d’histoire et d’horticulture au cœur de la ville. À seulement 5 km de la colline du Parlement se trouvent les 160 acres du cimetière Beechwood, le cimetière national du Canada. Découvrez plus de 35 000 tulipes plantées dans d’innombrables jardins entourant la beauté paisible de ce cimetière victorien. Promenez-vous sur les lieux en visite libre ou privée pour découvrir les 85 000 personnes qui ont façonné notre pays et marqué nos communautés. Venez rendre visite au cimetière commémoratif national de la GRC, au cimetière militaire national, au cimetière commémoratif du SCRS, au cimetière du service de police d’Ottawa et rendre hommage au sacrifice du service ou explorez le caractère unique de l’une des nombreuses sections communautaires qui célèbrent la diversité de nos pays. Le cimetière Beechwood est ouvert de l’aube jusqu’au crépuscule et des visites privées peuvent être organisées en contactant foundation@beechwoodottawa.ca ou par téléphone au 613-741-9530. Toutes les visites sont gratuites pour le public.

Le Festival canadien des tulipes est produit en partenariat avec
We are using cookies to give you the best experience. You can find out more about which cookies we are using or switch them off in privacy settings.
AcceptPrivacy Settings

GDPR

  • About cookies on this site

About cookies on this site

Our site uses cookies and other technologies so that we, and our partners, can remember you and understand how you use our site. Access our Cookie Consent Tool, as seen on every page, to see a complete list of these technologies and to tell us whether they can be used on your device. Further use of this site will be considered consent. For more information visit our privacy policy.

enfrMAY 14-24 MAI, 2021
enfrMAY 14-24 MAI, 2021

Veterans Day Ceremony

The Canadian Tulip Festival is proud to present its annual Veterans Day Ceremony on May 12, 2020 at 11 a.m. at Beechwood National Cemetery.  Viewers can watch the formal private ceremony on the Festival’s TULIPTV channel. 

The ceremony will include a wreath laying to commemorate the 75th Anniversary of the Liberation of the Netherlands. The ties that the Festival has to the Netherlands are formidable. The Canadian Tulip Festival was established to celebrate the historic Royal gift of tulips from the Dutch to Canadians immediately following the Second World War as a symbol of international friendship. The Festival preserves the memorable role of the Canadian troops in the liberation of the Netherlands and Europe, as well as commemorates the birth of Dutch Princess Margriet in Ottawa during World War II—the only royal personage ever born in Canada.  Hence the importance of remembering this historic bond on the Tulip Festival’s Veterans Day – particularly this Anniversary year.

To mark the occasion, the Festival will also acknowledge and celebrate individuals from each of the three branches of the military who have served our country.  This is the third year that an Honourary Veteran will be selected from the Army, Navy and Air Force based on candidate submissions made to the Festival. All Canadian armed forces personnel, regardless of when time was/is being served, is eligible to stand as a candidate for submission.

Understandably, these are extraordinary times where many events and activities are being cancelled and postponed to a later date when people can gather together in celebration and commemoration once again. Even though the Canadian Tulip Festival and Beechwood National Cemetery would prefer to have  had Veterans, dignitaries and the public attend Veterans Day to properly acknowledge the contributions service men and women have made to our country, it was unanimously agreed that a Festival ceremony – no matter how streamlined – should take place to honour all those who have served. The simplicity of the now-streamed event will only amplify its powerful significance for all of us. 

In Partnership With

Beechwood Cemetery, The National Cemetery of Canada

Come and explore 144 years of history and horticulture in the heart of the city. Only 5 KM from Parliament Hill sits the 160 acres of Beechwood Cemetery, The National Cemetery of Canada. Discover over 35 000 tulips planted in countless gardens surrounding the quiet beauty of this Victorian Cemetery. Stroll around the grounds in self-guided or private tour to discover the 85 000 who shaped our country and marked our communities. Come visit and honour the sacrifice of service at the RCMP National Memorial Cemetery, the National Military Cemetery, the CSIS Memorial Cemetery, the Ottawa Police Service Cemetery or explore the uniqueness of one of the many community sections that celebrates our countries diversity. Beechwood Cemetery is open from dawn until dusk and private tours can be requested at foundation@beechwoodottawa.ca or call 613-741-9530. All tours are free to the public.

THE CANADIAN TULIP FESTIVAL IS PRODUCED IN PARTNERSHIP WITH
We are using cookies to give you the best experience. You can find out more about which cookies we are using or switch them off in privacy settings.
AcceptPrivacy Settings

GDPR

  • About cookies on this site

About cookies on this site

Our site uses cookies and other technologies so that we, and our partners, can remember you and understand how you use our site. Access our Cookie Consent Tool, as seen on every page, to see a complete list of these technologies and to tell us whether they can be used on your device. Further use of this site will be considered consent. For more information visit our privacy policy.