fbpx
enfrMAY 14-24 MAI, 2021
enfrMAY 14-24 MAI, 2021

Un sacrifice de quartier

Conçu et recherché par David O'Malley
Alimenté par Le Festival canadien des tulipes

Le quartier dans lequel vit David O’Malley s’appelle le Glebe. C’est une communauté urbaine de 130 ans située Ottawa, Ontario, Canada – on y retrouve des maisons victoriennes en briques rouges, certaines majestueuses, d’autres de classes ouvrières, d’excellentes écoles aussi vieilles que le quartier, de grands arbres plantés dans des rues ombragées, des gens ouverts et très instruits, des enfants heureux. C’est un quartier diversifié, convoité et intemporel, proche de tout, entouré sur trois côtés par l’historique canal Rideau. Les gens viennent de toute la ville, du pays et même du monde entier pour parcourir ses sentiers, assister à ses festivals et événements sportifs et patiner sur le canal. Je vous mets au défi de chercher un quartier plus chic, plus branché, plus accessible, mais vous ne le trouverez jamais meilleur.

C’est un quartier vraiment parfait pour élever une famille, bâtir une entreprise et vivre sa vie comme l’a fait David. Il est sécuritaire, historique, dynamique, accessible à pied, serein et paisible … mais autrefois, c’était un des endroit le plus triste de la terre. Ses avenues regorgeaient d’appréhension et de désespoir, son quotidien occupé masquait la vibration constante d’une anxiété à haute intensité et le lent martèlement du chagrin. Derrière chaque porte et chaque rideau tiré se cachaient des familles anxieuses. Derrière beaucoup d’entres eux se trouvaient des parents brisés, des épouses déchirées, des souvenirs d’étés passés et perdus, les promesses d’un avenir détruit, des enfants qui ne connaîtront jamais leur père.

C’était les années de la Seconde Guerre mondiale ainsi que les décennies qui ont suivi pour lentement estomper ses impacts …

Ce projet a commencé par curiosité et il est ensuite devenu un projet du jour du Souvenir que j’ai eu du mal à mener à terme. Malheureusement, on y ajouta encore des noms bien après le 11 novembre. C’est maintenant un simple hommage à une génération de parents, frères, soeurs, épouses et grands-parents qui ont porté le terrible poids du sacrifice au 21e siècle. Un hommage aux mères Silver Star, aux pères brisés, aux familles brisées et aux épouses seules. Que Dieu les bénisse.

Rencontrez les visages qui ont combattu lors de la libération des Pays-Bas et lisez les histoires de ces braves soldats, qui ont quitté la sécurité de leurs maisons dans le quartier ue Glebe, juste à côté du site du Festival canadien des tulipes, pour lutter pour la liberté à l’étranger. 472 soldats ainsi que leur grade, les statistiques d’état civil et les membres de leur famille proche, représentant l’armée, la force aérienne et la marine, figurent sur notre carte interactive, fournissant un aperçu du stress et des sacrifices que toutes nos communautés canadiennes ont vécu.

David O’Malley discute du projet.

Le Festival canadien des tulipes est produit en partenariat avec
We are using cookies to give you the best experience. You can find out more about which cookies we are using or switch them off in privacy settings.
AcceptPrivacy Settings

GDPR

  • About cookies on this site

About cookies on this site

Our site uses cookies and other technologies so that we, and our partners, can remember you and understand how you use our site. Access our Cookie Consent Tool, as seen on every page, to see a complete list of these technologies and to tell us whether they can be used on your device. Further use of this site will be considered consent. For more information visit our privacy policy.

enfrMAY 8-18 MAI, 2020 | Participate Online | Participez enligne
enfrMAY 8-18 MAI, 2020 | Participate Online | Participez enligne

A Neighbourhood Sacrifice

Conceived and researched by David O'Malley
Powered by The Canadian Tulip Festival

The neighbourhood David O’Malley lives in is called the Glebe. It’s a funky 130-year-old urban community in Ottawa, Ontario, Canada— red brick Victorian homes, some stately, some working class, excellent schools as old as the neighbourhood, tall trees pleached over shady streets, open-minded and highly educated people, happy kids, diverse, desirable and timeless, close to everything, surrounded on three sides by the historic Rideau Canal. People come from all over the city, the country, even the world to walk its pathways, attend its festivals, sporting events and skate the canal. You may find a more upscale neighbourhood, a trendier one, a more affordable one, but you will never find a better one.

It is a truly perfect place to raise a family, build a business and live out a life as David has done. It is safe, historic, dynamic, walkable, serene and peaceful… but once it must have felt like the saddest place on earth. Its shady avenues ran with apprehension and despair, its busy serenity masked the constant high frequency vibration of anxiety and the low pounding of sorrow. Behind every door and every drawn curtain hid anxious families. Behind many were broken parents, heartbroken wives, memories of summers past and lost, the promises of a future destroyed, children who would never know their fathers.

These were the years of the Second World War and the decades following that it took to wash it all away…

This project began as a result of curiosity and then became a Remembrance Day Project that David struggled for months to complete. Sadly, he was still adding names well after the 11th of November. It is now simply an homage to a generation of parents, brothers, sisters, wives and grandparents who carried the terrible weight of sacrifice well into the 21st Century. An homage to the Silver Star Mothers, the broken fathers, the shattered families and the solitary wives. God bless them.

Meet the faces that fought in the Liberation of the Netherlands and read the stories of these brave soldiers, who left the safety of their homes in the Glebe neighbourhood, right next to the site of The Canadian Tulip Festival, to fight for freedom overseas. 472 Soldiers along with their rank, vital statistics, and close family members, representing the Army, Airforce and Navy are featured on our interactive map, providing a cross-section of the stress and sacrifice all our Canadian communities were experiencing.

David O’Malley discusses the project. 

THE CANADIAN TULIP FESTIVAL IS PRODUCED IN PARTNERSHIP WITH
We are using cookies to give you the best experience. You can find out more about which cookies we are using or switch them off in privacy settings.
AcceptPrivacy Settings

GDPR

  • About cookies on this site

About cookies on this site

Our site uses cookies and other technologies so that we, and our partners, can remember you and understand how you use our site. Access our Cookie Consent Tool, as seen on every page, to see a complete list of these technologies and to tell us whether they can be used on your device. Further use of this site will be considered consent. For more information visit our privacy policy.