enfrMAY 14-24 MAI, 2021
enfrMAY 14-24 MAI, 2021

Utrecht String Quartet

« Ce concert valait la peine d’attendre… une performance aux couleurs riches et intensément dramatique » – The New York Times

Les membres du quatuor à cordes d’Utrecht font ce qu’ils ont fait avec passion au cours des trente dernières années, jouent la plus belle musique de chambre et y consacrent leur vie. Ils se produisent dans le monde entier et dans les principales salles de musique de chambre des Pays-Bas où ils résident.

Le quatuor trouve une grande joie à jouer des œuvres bien connues, bien conscient que les grands compositeurs ont écrit des chefs-d’œuvre intemporels. Cependant, le Quatuor à cordes d’Utrecht a également acquis une excellente réputation grâce à sa recherche de répertoire perdu et oublié et à sa collaboration avec des compositeurs contemporains.

C’est leur mission de sauver les compositeurs de l’oubli injuste, en créant des projets pour y arriver. Les productions de CD de musique de Mossolov, Bosmans, Sweelinck, des œuvres moins connues de Britten et les quatuors complets de Glazunov, Verhulst, Gretchaninov, Louriéand Tchaikovsky font partie de la grande sélection d’enregistrements pour MDG.

Lors de la préparation d’une première représentation, Eeva (Finlande), Katherine (Australie), Mikhail (Russie) et Sebastian (Allemagne) abordent la musique comme s’il s’agissait d’une énigme qui doit être démêlée. “Quand nous avons de la nouvelle musique entre nos mains, nous ne pouvons pas attendre pour l’essayer, la comprendre, la voir et jouer avec elle, trouver des tempos, des harmonies, de la dynamique, discuter de ses intentions, l’écouter, découvrir ses possibilités et simplement apprendre.”

Leur polyvalence a fortement figuré dans les tournées internationales réussies du quatuor qui les ont conduits au Canada, aux États-Unis, en Australie, en Finlande et au Kazakhstan.

« Leur performance est à la fois intellectuelle, analytique et fortement expressive » – Helsingin Sanomat, Finlande.

Le quatuor enseigne en tant que quatuor en résidence à l’Université des Arts d’Utrecht et tient régulièrement une Masterclass internationale de musique de chambre en collaboration avec l’Université d’été de l’Université d’Utrecht. Ils sont également des invités réguliers au renommé Centre de musique canadienne CAMMAC.

« Nous voulons partager notre passion et l’art de jouer de la musique de chambre avec une jeune génération. »

Le quatuor à cordes d’Utrecht a établi une collaboration fructueuse avec des musiciens de chambre notables tels que Severin von Eckardstein, Pieter Wispelwey, Paolo Giacometti, Ralph van Raat, Nobuko Imai, Paul Cassidy, Aleksander Madzer ou le baryton Thomas Oliemans.

Les quatre musiciens se retrouvent dans leur plus profonde incitation à jouer de la musique de chambre, voulant créer une expérience merveilleuse qui touchera les gens dans leur cœur, en prenant une belle pièce et son compositeur comme fondation. Leur bravoure juvénile des premières années est maintenant enrichie par une crainte de forte unité et de compréhension.

« C’est comme rentrer à la maison, chaque fois que nous nous retrouvons lors d’une répétition ou d’une performance entre nos autres activités musicales. Nous aimons pouvoir ajouter nos propres voix individuelles à l’ensemble, nous avons appris à nous comprendre sans avoir besoin de beaucoup de mots. »

Le Festival canadien des tulipes est produit en partenariat avec
We are using cookies to give you the best experience. You can find out more about which cookies we are using or switch them off in privacy settings.
AcceptPrivacy Settings

GDPR

  • About cookies on this site

About cookies on this site

Our site uses cookies and other technologies so that we, and our partners, can remember you and understand how you use our site. Access our Cookie Consent Tool, as seen on every page, to see a complete list of these technologies and to tell us whether they can be used on your device. Further use of this site will be considered consent. For more information visit our privacy policy.

fbpx
enfrMAY 13-23 MAI, 2022
enfrMAY 13-23 MAI, 2022

Utrecht String Quartet

“This concert was worth waiting for…..richly colored and intensely dramatic performance”  – The New York Times

The members of the Utrecht String Quartet do what they have done passionately for the last thirty years, play the most beautiful chamber music and dedicate their lives to this. They perform worldwide, and in major chamber music venues in the Netherlands where they are resident.

The quartet finds great joy in playing well-known works, well aware that the great composers wrote timeless masterpieces. However, the Utrecht String Quartet have also gained their excellent reputation because of their search for lost and forgotten repertoire and their collaboration with contemporary composers.

It is their mission to save composers from unjust oblivion, creating projects to make this happen. CD productions of music by MossolovBosmans,  Sweelinck, lesser known works of Britten, and the complete quartets of GlazunovVerhulstGretchaninovLouriéand Tchaikovsky are amongst the sizeable selection of recordings for MDG.

When preparing for a first performance Eeva (Finland), Katherine (Australia), Mikhail (Russia) and Sebastian (Germany) approach music as if it were an enigma which needs to be unravelled. “When we have new music in our hands we just can’t wait to try, understand, see and play with it, find tempos, harmonies, dynamics, discuss its intentions, listen to it, discover its possibilities and just learn.”

Their versatility has featured strongly in the quartet’s successful international tourswhich have taken them as far as Canada, USA, Australia, Finland, and Kazakhstan.

“Their performance is simultaneously intellectual, analytical, and strongly expressive” – Helsingin Sanomat, Finland.

The quartet teach as Quartet-in-Residence at Utrecht University of Arts, and regularly hold an International Chamber Music Masterclass in collaboration with the Utrecht University Summer School. They are also regular guests at the renowned Canadian Music Center CAMMAC.

“We want to share our passion and the art of playing chamber music with a younger generation.”

The Utrecht String Quartet has established a successful collaborative relationship with notable chamber musicians such as Severin von Eckardstein, Pieter Wispelwey, Paolo Giacometti, Ralph van Raat, Nobuko Imai, Paul Cassidy, Aleksander Madzer or baritone Thomas Oliemans.

The four musicians find each other in their deepest incentive to play chamber music, wanting to create a wonderful experience that will touch people in their hearts, taking a beautiful piece and its composer as a foundation. Their youthful bravura of the early years is now enriched by an awe of strong togetherness and understanding.

“It feels like coming home, whenever we find each other at a rehearsal or performance in between our other musical activities. We cherish being able to add our own individual voices to the whole, we have learned to understand each other without the need for many words.

THE CANADIAN TULIP FESTIVAL IS PRODUCED IN PARTNERSHIP WITH